Surya Namaskaar

Surya Namaskaar means "to greet or to salute or to worship the Sun God. The entire process has the following essential components:

- 1. A set of 12 asans (postures). From 1 to 7 asans are different but asan 8 is repetition of asan 5, asan 9 is repetition of asan 4, asan 10 is repetition of asan 3, asan 11 is repetition of asan 2, and finally asan 12 is repetition of 1. Surya (Sun) passes through 12 positions (Kala) while completing its journey. These twelve positions (kala) are called Raashi in Jyotish Viddya. Each position manifests special virtue of the Surya. The name of the Surya represents these special virtues and 12 mantras are created by combining the position and the virtue of the Surya. Through uttering the mantras with devotion and with right pronunciation and tune, we acquire or assimilate these virtues in our life.
- 2. Each position has its own Mantra, which can be uttered mentally or loudly. The essential point is the creation of the special vibration that affects the mind and the body. Without mantra Surya namaskaar is not complete. Each mantra is a name of the Sun God and its structure is as follows:

"OM + <a name of the Sun God> + NAMAH"

Matra (Cycle)

One repetition of 12 positions completes one cycle (Matra) of Surya Namaskaar. These asans are performed without interruption and in a synchronized way.

Surya Namaskaar 1: This is a prayer mudra (mudra can be vaguely translated as position). It prepares you mentally and physically for the entire process.



Surya Namaskaar 2: This resembles Hasta Uttanasan.



Surya Namaskaar 3: Resembles Padhastaasan



Surya Namaskaar 4: Resembles Aswasanchalan asan

OM BHANWEY NAMAH

Surya Namaskaar 5: Resembles Parwatasan



Surya Namaskaar 6: Ashtang namaskaar



Surya Namaskaar 7: Resembles Poornabhujangasan



Surya Namaskaar 8: Repetition of 5.



Surya Namaskaar 9: Repetition of 4.



OM AADITYAYE NAMAH

(Note: In the photo it is not shown but remember the position of the legs reverses, that is, the leg which was stretched back comes forward here.)

Surya Namaskaar 10: Repetition of 3.



OM SAWITRYE NAMAH

Surya Namaskaar 11: Repetition of 2.



Surya Namaskaar 12: Repetition of 1.

